SENATE

SCHEDULE OF SENATE MEETINGS (2016-2017)

Fall 2016
  • Senate Orientation:
    Sunday, September 11 – The Forum – TCC 450, 10:00-2:00PM
  • 1- September (Meeting #1):
    Monday, September 12 – TCC 351/352, 5:30-7:30PM
  • 2- October (Meeting #2):
    Monday, October 10 – Health Science Campus:Aresty Auditorium, 5:30-7:30PM
  • 3- November (Meeting #3):
    Monday, November 7 – TCC 351/352, 5:30-7:30PM
  • 4- December (Meeting #4):
    Monday, November 28 – TCC 351/352, 5:30-7:30PM

Spring 2017

    • 5 – January (Meeting #5):
      Monday, January 30 – TCC 351/352, 5:30-7:30PM
    • 6 – February (Meeting #6):
      Monday, February 13 – TCC 351/352, 5:30-7:30PM
    • 7 – March (Meeting #7):
      Monday, March 27 – Health Science Campus:Aresty Auditorium, 5:30-7:30PM
    • 8 – April (Meeting #8):
      Monday, April 17 – TCC 351/352, 5:30-7:30PM

IMPORTANT DATES:
Sunday, September 25 (6-8:30PM)
– Leadership Dinner – The Forum (TCC 450)

Saturday, October 15 (8:30-12PM) – Senator Community Service Event (Co-event with Dir. of Comm. Service) – LA Regional Food Bank

Friday, December 2 (6-8PM) – Optional Development Event for E-board and Senate – The Forum (TCC 450)

GSG Transition Retreat (Spring) – TBA


Information for New Senators

Welcome to GSG!
Each year, students from each department elect at least one senator for their umbrella organizations. Senators make important decisions regarding policies, funding, and advocacy issues. For more information regarding your department’s elections procedures, please contact your department’s faculty advisor or current department senator.
For more information on your role as a senator, please check out the senator responsibilities page before the first senate meeting.
Senators are responsible for attending every senate meeting once a month from 6:00-8:00PM. Senators must also actively participate in GSG Committees.

Senate Orientation

Every year, senators attend the Senate Orientation before the first senate meeting to meet other senators, learn about GSG and the role of senators, and bring up important advocacy issues that the Senate will work on during the year. This year the Orientation will take place onAugust 30, 2015 from 10:00am-2:00pm at the Forum in the Campus Center(TCC450)


Senate Information

Throughout the year, Senate Agendas, Minutes, and PowerPoints will be posted here.


Senator Online Voting Process

The GSG is undertaking a measure to create a better method for voting. This online process will be used to save time and allow Senators to cast their votes anonymously.

  1. Check in before the meeting and receive your Voting Number and Login Information.
  2. GO TO: https://www.electionsonline.com/vote/.
  3. Once it has been announced that voting can begin, login with your given username and password.
  4. Cast your votes.
  5. Wait for results.

THINGS TO REMEMBER:

Your casted vote is anonymous but you are identifiable via your Voting Number. This is to track who has or has not voted. If you intend to leave before voting, please inform an e-board member. Otherwise, it will cause delays in the voting process.


Senators Names and Details

We will be posting the names and contact information for each senator here in the upcoming weeks. If you are unable to find your department senator please email gsger@usc.edu.

Umbrella Organization Name Email
American Studies/Ethnicity Huan He

Heidi Hong

huanh@usc.edu

xingyaoh@usc.edu

Anthropology
Annenberg Communication Graduate Student Assoc. (ACGSA) Matthew Bui matthew.bui@usc.edu
Annenberg Graduate Student Representatives (AGSR)
Architecture Logan Dumont

Hollis Brashear

Kevin Shapiro

Erick Castillo

ldumont@usc.edu

hbrashea@usc.edu

shapirok@usc.edu

erickcas@usc.edu

Art History (Dornsife) Dina Murokh murokh@usc.edu
Biology Graduate Student Assoc. (MCB) Still Deciding
Business – Marshall Student Executive Committee Niranjan Kasi

Eric Segal

Sal Marchesano

Brett MacMinn

Jason Badgley

niranjan.kasi.2018@marshall.usc.edu

Eric.Segal.2017@marshall.usc.edu

salvatore.marchesano.2018@marshall.usc.edu

brett.macminn.2018@marshall.usc.edu

Jbadgley@usc.edu

Chemistry Graduate Student Org. Alexandra Aloia aloia@usc.edu
Cinematic Arts Darshana Mini

Jay Dasgupta

mini@usc.edu

jayjitda@usc.edu

Classics Still Deciding
Comparative Literature (CSLC) (Dornslife) Still Deciding
Dentistry Still Deciding
Earth Sciences Rachel Lippoldt

Jayme Feyhl-Buska

Dylan Wilmeth

rlippold@usc.edu

feyhlbus@usc.edu

dwilmeth@usc.edu

East Asian Languages and Cultures (EALC) Ka Lee (Kathy) Wong kaleewon@usc.edu.
Economics (Dornsife)
Education (Rossier) Jonna Drivalas

Erica Kirk

Jennifer Perry

Edna Martinez

drivalas@usc.edu

ekirk@usc.edu

jennifyp@usc.edu

emmartin@usc.edu

JENGA Doctoral Association (JDA) Cory Buckner

Shindale Seale

cbuckner@usc.edu

sseale@usc.edu

English (AEGS) Still Deciding
Gerontology Kylie Meyer kyliemey@usc.edu
History Simon Judkins sjudkins@usc.edu
Gould School of Law Zoe Steinberg

Isabelle Vidro

zoe.steinberg.2018@lawmail.usc.edu

isabelle.vidro.2018@lawmail.usc.edu

Linguistics (Dornsife) Jesse Storbeck jstorbec@usc.edu
Literature & Creative Writing – Master of Liberal Studies Student Association (MLSSA) Still Deciding
Mathematics Graduate Student Assoc. Nicolle Sandoval nesandov@usc.edu
Marine Biology & Biological Oceanography Still Deciding
Philosophy – Pegasus (Dornsife) Meagan Fairchild mfairchi@usc.edu
Physics (GASP) Cathie (Tsz Yan) So tszyanso@usc.edu
Politics & Internationial Relations (POIR) Dávid Somogyi dsomogyi@usc.edu
Professional Writing Association (PWA)
Graduate Association of Students in Psychology (GASP) Shannon K. Potts shannokp@usc.edu
School of Social Work (SWSO) Carlos Duarte

Claudia Chirino

Lisseth Guardado

Alejandra Cortez

Francisco Vasquez

Alonso Fuente

Jason Woodrum

cduarte@usc.ed

chirino@usc.edu

lguardad@usc.edu

cortezusc@gmail.com

francijv@usc.edu

fuente@usc.edu

woodrum@usc.edu

Sociology Graduate Student Assoc. Michelle Demus

​ Nathaniel Edward Reed

​ Blanca

mddemus@msn.com

nathaner@usc.edu

baramire@usc.edu

SPPD – Assoc. Students of Planning and Development (ASPD) Olivia Joncich ojoncich@usc.edu
SPPD – Graduate Policy & Administration Community (GPAC) Edgar Ortiz edgarort@usc.edu
SPPD – Student Health Council (SHC) Still Deciding
Graduate Association of Music Students (Thornton) Jaxon Williams

Tomacz Fechner

jaxonsw@gmail.com

tfechner@usc.edu

Theater – The Drama Club Still Deciding
Viterbi School of Engineering Vinay Piratla

Ranveer Ghatge

Yuta Ando

Sneha Jose

Anthony Shao

Ghena Alhanaee

vgsasrvp@gmail.com

vgsafin@gmail.com

vgsa.vpcomm@gmail.com

vgsa.vpprograms@gmail.com

vgsapres@gmail.com

VGSL@gapp.usc.edu

Associated Students School of Medicine (ASSM) Ali Tafreshi

Mark Landau

tafreshi@usc.edu

mjlandau@usc.edu

Associated Students School of Pharmacy (ASSP) Vanessa Delayo

Ndinda Domingos

Alaina Austel

delayo@usc.edu

domingos@usc.edu

austel@usc.edu

Masters of Public Health Student Association (MAPHSA) Shirley Luu luushirl@usc.edu
Neuroscience Graduate Forum Still Deciding
Occupational Therapy and Science Council Still Deciding
Pharmacy Graduate Alliance (PGA) Aida Kouhi kouhi@usc.edu
Physician Assistant Student Assoc (Alhambra) Still Deciding
Physical Therapy Student Association (PTSA) Alina Marrone

Lisa Baek

Kate Kevorken

amarrone@usc.edu

lbaek@usc.edu

kevorken@usc.edu

School of Medicine Graduate Student Assoc. (SMGSA) Max Ederer

Colleen Garvey

ederer@usc.edu

cgarvey@usc.edu

WorldMed (Global Medicine) Still Deciding